Ross Gittins, Christians and Economics

Studying political economy this year has had my mind in overdrive. As a precursor to some things I want to write about when semester is over, have a read of Ross Gittins’ take on a recent Christian critique of capitalism.

I’m a little frustrated that Gittins hasn’t actually said what he thinks about the critique. Without going into any detail, I think the moral critique made of capitalism in the article is fairly sound (except, perhaps, for reading too much into Jesus’ parable of the talents).

I’m not sure I agree with this, though: ‘Schluter’s conclusion is that Christians need to search urgently for a new economic order based on biblical revelation.’ I think Scripture does have things to say about economics. However, I think the primary responsibility of the Christian is to advocate for justice (including good family relationships) within the existing system, rather than recreating the economic order.

Much more to say…

Leave a Reply

