Lonely Day Musings

Things I’ve considered today:

After four years of uni I get excited by Level 8 of Fisher Library.

I miss my family more than I often acknowledge.

Finished reading Deuteronomy. Didn’t expect it to be that great. I was soundly rebuked each day. It turns out God really cares about my holiness.

I have wonderful friendships. I’m anxious to maintain them beyond uni.

Praying with my bible study group is delightfully natural.

Parliamentary question time used to excite me. Now I wish they’d all just get back to work.

After God and other people, music is still my greatest love.

I am not as good at being alone as I once was.

It is still very good for me to be alone.

Walking in the rain without an umbrella remains one of the greatest joys of my life.

5 thoughts on “Lonely Day Musings

  1. Thanks richard. Your post was much appreciated by a fellow people-loving introvert 🙂 I didn’t realise how much I missed my family til my wedding speech – i was half way through, talking about mum and dad, and just started bawling. That was about 2 1/2 years after i stopped living with them.

    Please tell me more about the photograph. Did you take it? It captures just how lonely and beautiful newtown can be. A place with some light but not yet clarity.

    • Thanks Meredith 🙂

      Yes, the photograph is mine, taken from the window of my living room. I feel like Newtown is a place where there’s lots of activity but little genuine connection.

Leave a Reply

